Skip to content

Brad Has Walked . . . At Night!!

June 28, 2010

My name is Bradley Fisher a native Californian. I am a seminarian for the Diocese of Sacramento. I am college level three for those who want to know. I have been commanded to blog and here it is. I have decided to talk about the pleasures of walking . . . At night!

Night Walker Pirate Brad Cyborg 2010

Margaret, Kate, and Scott waiting out a Lightning storm in A Dingy.

I have had four weeks of night shift. My shifts have been day then night followed by night preluding day shifting into night and continuing right into another night. Night shift makes me happy even though I get an average of three hours of sleep. Not on the shift, in our RV named “A Boat.” Just so everyone knows I am the one who came up with the ingenious name.

I have two favorite night time experiences. The first was shared with my Michigander friend Margaret. The night started and we walked two miles in South Dakota. A lightning storm stopped us. The safety van picked us up. I sat in the front seat and Margaret sat in the back. Scottie our Assistant Leader says, “We picked up a friend.” “Who?” we ask naively, thinking it was someone from day shift. He turns on the light and next to Margaret in Miriam’s lap is a Cat. Miriam named her Lola.

Miriam and Lola

Margaret was shocked and wanted to move to the front seat. So we switched places and I got to pet a cat while we waited out the storm in the van, named “A Dingy.” Just so everyone knows Margaret came up with that ingenious name. Time passed, we all fell asleep, and Lola had decided to first fall asleep in front of my face and then settled on my feet. When the storm was over Margaret and I continued walking and Scott and Miriam went to return Lola to the side of the road where they found her. We saw A Dingy stop ahead of us and hoped to see Lola as we walked by. The storm had cleared it was bright night so we did not have our headlights on. We approacedh the spot where Lola was dropped off and nothing. We continued walking. After a couple minutes we saw a shadow ahead of us moving on the road. “Lola! . . .” but as it got closer it was way bigger than Lola, “What the heck is that?” I turn on my light and it was a german shepherd, head down as if to say I come in peace. Margaret and I no longer needed to use the restroom, just kidding. The dog stopped at my feet, I pet it, and then it ran off into the tall grass off the road. It continued to dart into the road and back into the grass for a few startling times. We got used to it and I decided to name it “Scrunt.” Like the grass wolves from “Lady in the Water.” Margaret did not like it. So I said he was “Scrunto.” Scrunto followed us for a few miles. To be honest he followed us for our whole five miles. We switched walkers and Scrunto walked with them their whole shift, and then he walked with us again, and them again, and us, and them. He walked with us 28 miles. From 1:00 a.m. until we finished around 7:00 a.m. Sweet Blessing from God.

Scott, Miriam, Margaret, Brad, Kate, and SCRUNTO!!!

My next favorite experience, again Margaret and I are walking, this time with Miriam. We decided that we love singing and we love the rosary. We combined them and sang the rosary. It took a little under four miles to sing the whole thing. We were extremely out of breathe and it was awesome. What do you do when you are out of breathe?You sing some more. We three sang “There was a Moose” for the next three miles creating new rhymes. My favorite was, “There was a Cat named Walter . . . And his courage would not Falter.” A whole seven miles attributed to Mary’s intercession for salvation and Singing. Awesome seven miles.

For now that is all I have to write. I ask for you to pray for us (jokingly) about a ban that has been placed on buying fruit snacks. I resorted to buying frozen fruit treats and it has worked, but I miss my gushers. Thanks for reading God Bless.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill & Colleen Pasnik permalink
    July 8, 2010 8:28 am

    Nice meeting the northern walkers in Dubuque last night…you are an inspiration to us all. Since you like to sing so much, I have a song suggestion:
    “God you are my God and I will ever praise you.
    God you are my God and I will ever praise you.
    I will seek you in the morning
    And I will learn to walk in your ways
    Step by step you lead me
    And I will follow you all of my days
    Step by step you lead me
    And I will follow you all of my days”

    Let us know when you get here Friday to coordinate Mass and food/water. God Bless, Bill & Colleen

  2. Beth permalink
    July 15, 2010 1:22 pm

    I miss walking! I enjoyed it so much last year! Sounds like you all are having a blast and making all the memories in the world with one another! Praying for you all!
    Beth (North Walker ’09)

Leave a Reply

