Skip to content

There are walkers everywhere!

February 25, 2011

Hey Crossroads/pro-life fans!

This is Kate Neisen, walker on the 2010 northwern walk. I realized the other day that it’s been about 6 months since the walk–so it’s about time to share some thoughts 🙂

I don’t know about any of the other walkers out there, but I had a really hard time adjusting after the walk. To begin with, I had an amazing group of walkers….they all had GREAT personalities (northwern walkers, you KNOW what I’m talking about :). I am sure part of me is idealzing the walk,  but we truly had an great group and I saw them as an image of the body of Christ. 

On top of having a great walk, the end of my walk was a new beginning for me. I had finished college and was moving to a place with not a lot of friends. To add to that, I don’t always take the challenge of change well, especially without a community. For the first months after the walk, everytime I saw a similar RV we lived out of or a Dingy (the nickname of our support vehicle) I got instant flashbacks of the summer. I would re-read my journal and listen to songs we listened to everyday. I felt myself almost grieving the loss of the walk.

Eventually I had a realization. That this summer, for me, was very much like the Transfiguration of Jesus. I had see my own transfiguration of Jesus–seen him more glorified and imbodied over the summer. I was behaving like Peter, James, and John who had see the transfiguration. They wanted to stay with Jesus on the Mount. They were ready to set up camp there, to become comfortable there. And why wouldn’t they. Jesus just appeared to them in all his glory, a piece of heaven. 

But Jesus did not want that. He instructed to take that experience, and to share it with all. Likewise, this summer was a gift to be shared and not kept to myself. It was ment to bring glory to God. As I started to realize and accept this challenge, I started to see ‘walkers’ through the people met in the pro-life movement. I see other people who have the same dedication to the pro-life movement, who are striving to put all of themselves for babies they most likely will never know on earth.

I am sure meeting these people are God’s way of saying thank you, and to not be afraid. He will take care of me, if I only trust He will. He knows the deepest desire’s of my heart and want’s me to be joyful. And we are most joyful we are fulfilling God’s will.

Keep the faith,

Kate Neisen

Northwern Walk, 2010

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs. Orr permalink
    February 26, 2011 2:14 pm

    Funny, Kate, but the walk has a similar effect upon those who host the walkers. Here in North Platte, Nebraska, on the Central Walk, I have had host families express similar reactions to me after the walkers’ visit— to a lesser degree, of course, but present just the same. It is truly the power of the Holy Spirit.
    We look forward to seeing you again this summer. It is also six months until the next walk. We wait in joyful anticipation….

  2. Niamh McGee permalink
    April 12, 2011 2:27 pm

    Its really nice to hear about your experience Kate! I’m am walking this summer, (the Northern walk) and I’m a little apprehensive at the moment, I don’t really know what to expect! To hear that the walk meant so much to you is a great comfort!
    Thanks so much,
    Niamh – Ireland

Leave a Reply

