Skip to content

God keeps us going

June 12, 2011

Blessed, just so blessed, these are the words that have come to mind more and more as our trip continues on. Many people have told us that although we may not see the fruits of our mission or we may feel like we can’t find encouragement as we walk, what we are doing is really making a difference. So far, the fruits and encouragement have been springing up like whack-a-moles, and they have been such a large contribution in keeping us motivated and focused.

Right now we are in the Salt Lake City area in Utah for the weekend and tomorrow we will start walking towards Denver, Colorado. Today we stopped by a Wendy’s because I needed something quick and cheap to eat. The cashier saw the back of one of our shirts and asked me, “do you guys really walk across the country??” I told her we absolutely do and she looked puzzled.   She thought I was joking, so I started explaining where we start and end and then she asked, “what does pro-life mean? Is that like, Jesus?” I smiled and one of our walkers, Stephanie, went on to explain what it means to be pro-life. She gave her a basic “from the womb to the tomb” explanation and immediately she cashier stuck out her hands for some high-fives!

Later on we talked to her outside and told her a little more about what we do. She then told a little about her own story. She was going through a very rough time in her life and she was heavily drinking and was emotionally damaged in many ways. She told us that she became pregnant and after some long nights of thinking about her next step she decided there was no way she could kill her baby. She had the child and it was the light she needed to save her from the darkness she was lost in.

She told us that this child is the only thing that kept her alive and pushing through the hard times when she felt like giving up. She truly believed she would not be here right now if it wasn’t for her baby that loves her more than she has ever felt loved in her life.

As we walk this summer we do so to change our culture so that mothers may have the courage to choose to give their child life. We fight so that mothers may follow the example set by this brave young woman, and meeting her was truly an honor. We prayed that God continues to pour His blessings upon her and her beautiful daughter, and that He continues to give us strength throughout our journey so that we may not fall into a spiritual fatigue as we bring the gospel of life to the streets of the United States.

Ok, so one more story.

On Crossroads we rely completely on the grace of God and the generosity that flows through all those who support us. He decided to really show His grace in action this weekend. I was speaking at the Spanish masses at a church yesterday and I had a little table set up with stickers and more information in the back. After mass and some great chats and support from many parishioners, I started to pack up the table and head back to our host family. As I was doing so an elderly Mexican woman slowly approached me struggling to make her way towards my table. When she got to me she asked me to wait so she can walk to her purse so she can help us. I smiled and said told her I would wait then she started making her way toward the far front of the church. I can see the discomfort in every step she took, and I thought it was such an incredible act of charity for her to even have to walk to the front of the church just so she can bring back a donation.

So I waited, and waited, and waited. She finally inched her way back to me still pushing herself to make it over to me. She had in her fragile little hand, a single dollar and put it in the basket. She had such a hard time making her way around the church yet she still wanted so badly to help stop the evil of abortion. I can see in her eyes she put all her heart in her contribution, and she was giving me what she could afford. She donated more than anyone that day, regardless of the amount.

It was something so simple as that, which keeps me going when my legs hurt or when my eyelids grow heavy. She is my encouragement; she showed me that human life is worth the struggle, no matter how small we might think our contributions are. She and her family will not leave my prayers as I walk. As I push on to witness to anyone and everyone I meet, I will never forget the little old woman of Christ who witnessed to me, showing me true love and courage.

“And he sat down opposite the treasury, and watched the multitude putting money into the treasury. Many rich people put in large sums. And a poor widow came, and put in two copper coins, which make a penny. And he called his disciples to him, and said to them, “Truly, I say to you, this poor widow has put in more than all those who are contributing to the treasury. For they all contributed out of their abundance; but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, her whole living.” 

-Mark 12:41-44

Yours in Christ,

Victor Bermudez

Central Walkers 2011

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Foti permalink
    June 13, 2011 8:08 am

    You tell wonderful stories of encouragement Victor! The work you do produces so much fruit. Do not be discouraged. There is so much good coming from these walks that you may never know in this life. Keep up the good work! Be safe. We are praying for you!

  2. Host Family for Northern Walkers in Philly permalink
    June 13, 2011 8:56 am

    Awesome! Keep the stories coming! Tears of joy were flowing after reading this and it made me proud to be a host family for Crossroads!

Leave a Reply

