Skip to content

Faith That Can Climb Mountains

June 18, 2011

Well we just finished our 4th week!  Over the past four weeks we have overcome incredible challenges! Many times we feel overwhelmed with the enormous task before us but more often then not Gods Grace fills and refreshes us, in his infinite wisdom, at just the moment we need the boost. Monday through Friday we walk. We walk for our unborn baby brothers and sisters who have died victim to abortion. We walk for the unborn babies who are in peril of such an end. We walk for the Dear Girls who have fallen victim to the lies of a society which pressure the love of self over others and we walk for all those, who, in any way, have been hurt by the evil of abortion. We walk to bring a message of life. A message of hope!

It is so exciting to be a part of such a movement for life! Everyday brings new challenges which we conquer in the name of the unborn.  How often our human extremities fail!  I think we  have all felt, at one point or another, the overwhelming thought while finishing a step that we might not be able to take another.  But through our human weakness the evidence of Christs presence in our mission is made all the more clear.  The first time this was made overwhelmingly clear for me was on our first week walking. I had a particularly challenging shift one night as we crossed over the Sierra Nevada’s.  It was my second shift that night and it seemed as if the whole 5 miles was a continuous steep grade. We climbed… and climbed…. and climbed.  I was walking with Yale that shift and its no wonder if he thinks I am crazy because as I walked I held absolutely nothing back  and prayed every prayer I knew, invoked the help of every saint I could name, and asked  (it may be more honest to say almost commanded) the Holy Spirit to fill us with the Grace, and oxygen, we needed to make it up the mountain, all quite loudly. Needless to say I made it up that mountain.  Now, as I look back at that mountain and I look back at me I know there is no way I, Stephanie, could have crossed that mountain. But with the power and Grace of the Holy Spirit behind me through my weakness I was made strong. And with the Holy Saints and Angels we made the climb together.  “For God commands the Angels to guard you in all your ways. With their hands they shall support you lest you strike your foot against a stone”  Psalm 91:11-12

Each week brings new challenges. Yet God is always there at just the right time to give our sore feet rest.  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  -Matthew 11:28  Whether it is in the host Familys we meet, the parishioners at a church we speak at, or a stranger at a gas station who asks about our shirts.  In one word or smile of encouragement, one story of how a person courageously chose life for their baby. We are renewed by the reminder that we are walking for our Brothers and Sisters in Christ, the born and unborn. And that by the Grace of God no trial, no matter how big, will keep us from spreading the Gospel of life onto the streets as a light for those lost in the darkness which has enveloped this world!

God Bless You,

Stephanie Santoro

Central Walk 2011

 

Central

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Your sister, Colleen permalink
    June 21, 2011 1:15 pm

    Dear Stephanie,

    God is using you all to make a tremendous difference in America. Keep on climbing. You are in our prayers. Many lives have been affected through your walking – be not afraid!!!

    In Christ through the most Blesses Virgin,

  2. Carla permalink
    August 8, 2011 7:44 pm

    Hey Stephanie-
    I’m a little late posting but it was so fun to see the video and hear what you are doing. Keep it up as you approach Washington D.C. I’d love to hear about your trip after you get back home.

    Hugs and prayers from the Millers (Gary, Carla, Christin, Morgan, Ray, James, Andrew and Thomas!)

Leave a Reply

