Skip to content

Celebrating Life

June 19, 2011

If you would have told me two months ago that I was going to kick off my 22nd birthday by walking through Colorado, in the rain, in the middle of the night, I would have thought you were crazy. However, when night shift started Thursday night, that was exactly how my 22nd birthday started.

And I wouldn’t have celebrated it any other way.

The more that my birthday has been anticipated by the group over the last couple weeks, the more I have thought about what we are walking for in relation to birthdays. Birthdays celebrate the life of the person on the day they were born and I love the fact that I got to celebrate the day I was born by walking for the unborn.  I love the fact that I get to celebrate my life by walking in hopes of helping to give life to others. However, the more I’ve thought about it, the more I’ve come to realize that we don’t seem to celebrate life often enough. We celebrate when babies are born or on birthdays but rarely do we take a step back to just celebrate the life in front of us, the person in front of us. While we are called to honor the sanctity of life from the moment of conception to natural death, how often to we take time to celebrate and honor the person in front of us, celebrate simply being alive. We can celebrate life through the way we treat those around us, our attitudes, our joy, our hope, our love. We are all called to bring Christ’s love to all those we encounter- it’s how we best can celebrate life in any and every given moment.

“I give you a new commandment: love one another. As I have loved you, so you also should love one another. This is how all will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35

God's birthday present to me!

Christ loved by walking the road to Calvary, by giving of His life so that others may live. As we continue our walk across the country, my hope and prayer is that we may continue to celebrate life, to love as Christ loved, by giving of ourselves in order to build up the culture of life.

God Bless,

Catie Kneemiller

Central Walk 2011

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

