Skip to content

All the Small Things…

July 13, 2011

Greetings Everyone!

Firstly, I would like to apologize once again for the scarcity of the Northern Walk’s updates. I’m so glad I can share our experiences with you. Secondly, I would like to send out a huge thank you to all of YOU! Your prayers, your generosity, your hospitality, and your kindness have all been so encouraging to us, and we are all extremely grateful!

When I think of all of the things I miss…

  • A home cooked meal,
  • A bed,
  • A shower,
  • A full nights rest,
  • Sitting at a dinner table,
  • Being able to slice bread,
  • Dressing up,
  • Just … hanging out!

I realize how much I took these things for granted. I have certainly built up a greater appreciation for all of them.

We all spend time missing comforts of home such as these, but we can’t forget why we’re all here…

It is so easy to get caught up in ourselves, but that is not why we are actually here. If you have a chance, I would greatly encourage you to read over all of the walkers’ profiles. I know it was inspirational to me. Their selflessness and genuine gift of themselves for a whole summer during their college or post college years is just incredible.

One of my favorite parts of the walk is attending daily Mass, and meeting parishioners who are so amazed at what we are doing. If only they knew. They are the ones at the abortion clinics every weekend. They are fighting against the evils of abortion, on a daily basis, and have been for years! All we gave up was one summer. It is so humbling and inspirational to meet people who have worked for Birthright or other local Pro Life groups for 30+ years. We are praying for you all, that you never lose hope and that you remember that you are fighting for a worthy cause.

God affords us all wonderful graces through experiences such as these, but he often also takes us by surprise…

This summer has been an incredible “spiritual growth spurt” for myself as well as many of my fellow walkers. I would like to share a story with you from about a week ago. We were sitting at daily Mass, when a father and two little boys came in. Of course they attracted my attention right away. As they entered the pew, the father genuflected, and one of the little boys followed in his example. Throughout the Mass, he prayed as his father did, and worshiped in his fathers examples. Their love and trust was so inspirational. I was moved to tears. I couldn’t help but pray to God, wanting that same kind of relationship with my Father. I prayed, “God, please make me small as this child. Teach me to worship you, and love you, and pray with my whole heart, just as this father has taught his son.” This beautiful experience is one of many that God has gifted to us, to invite us closer to Himself and into his love.

“The beauty of creation reflects the infinite beauty of the Creator.” (CCC 341).

God bless,

Amelia Lamsam

P.S. – One of our walkers found a clever way to avoid the aroma of Harvey the RV…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Host Family for Northern Walkers in Philly permalink
    July 13, 2011 4:04 pm

    Sitting in my cubicle at work tearing up from your story of the small boy. Thanks!

    You have a bed, a pool and tons of food waiting for you in the Jersey side of Philly!

    Thanks for doing what we can not do. I would love to spend a Summer walking for life, but family, work, age, etc. keeps it from happening so we are walking with you in spirit.

    So keep the updates coming!

Leave a Reply

