Skip to content

Always Within Reach

July 14, 2011

At this point in our journey, it’s quite easy for everyone to slip every once in a while and forget why exactly it is that we’re all here. So often, my teammates and I catch ourselves falling into this state of “I don’t wanna!”-ness. Don’t want to wake up with so little sleep under our belts, don’t want to miss another shower, don’t want to go walk, et cetera. I’ve found myself asking, “Lord, why do you even have me here?”

Then He answers in so many ways that we can’t even pick them all up. For instance- a few weeks ago, I was on Night Shift for the third week in a row. My morale was low, I’d just climbed a seemingly endless hill (mountain, but not really), and we’re all pretty sure we heard a bear. But then, I felt that I was covered in this giant blanket. The blanket was dark- one shade of deep, velvety navy blue. The blanket looked as though it had been on the wrong side of a glitter fight. It was though I was a little kid, and had used this blanket to make a fort in my living room. I could see one streak of light in coming through the blanket though, but it wouldn’t quite get all the way through. The streak, therefore, made a brilliant shade of translucent blue, and the glitter there looked more like faint freckles.

My Father had made this fort for me, and the blanket was the night sky. That night, I saw more stars than I’d ever seen in my life (not even kidding). I saw the Milky Way brighter than I could have imagined it could be. I felt wrapped up in this blanket- God my Father had wrapped me and my teammates, His children, up in this blanket and was holding on to us tight.

I realized in those miles of walking that God is always right within reach. Even when we almost get hit by semi-trucks, even when we’re afraid of getting attacked by a bear, even when we’re frustrated. He’s just holding us in His immense arms, and we’re unable to escape no matter how much we struggle and writhe trying to get out.

It’s moments like those when God reminds me that some people don’t even realize that they’re wrapped in His blanket. They’re cold and need shelter and love. It’s moments like these when God reminds me why He has me here this summer. He’s calling us to tell others that He’s always within reach, because He’s holding onto us all the time. It’s our job to remind the men and women who are hurting in our country that they don’t have to be cold anymore, there’s warmth right here. Life, right here. And they can be instruments to bring that warmth and that life into our world. It’s not always easy, but the best things in life aren’t.

Praise God for this beautiful life, and the chance to defend it with our sacrifices this summer! St. Therèse of Lisieux, pray for us!

Kathlene Gorman

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

