Skip to content

Let me see your face

August 8, 2011

As I flip back through my journal, I recount how often I looked to nature to see God’s beauty, saying, “God is such an amazing architect to build these mountains!” or, “He’s such a great artist to paint such a beautiful and cloud-filled sunset.” In our walk we’ve seen trickling streams, extensive fields, dense forests, small flowers by the roadside, and many beautiful sunrises and sunsets (cue Fiddler on the Roof song). I was in awe of His work.

However, as this summer has progressed, I have come to see His beauty reflected in His people. Awhile back, I was walking with my teammate, Joe, and all that day I had been praying with all my heart to see the face of Jesus in some way. As we were walking a woman stopped us on the side of the road, mid rosary. She wanted to know what we were doing and asked us lots of questions. As we explained what we were doing, a smile grew across her face, and eventually she exclaimed, “I get to meet such cool people!” She proceeded to pray over us and ask if there was anything we needed- money, water, anything. She gave us each a jug of water from her trunk (that she just happened to have) to carry as we walked, and as well as all of the money she had with her, just like in the Gospel of Mark (Mark 12:41-44) in the parable of the Widow’s Offering. She then promised to stop by later with more water and to give us even more money. I truly felt that God had answered my prayers. I saw the face of Jesus in this woman – so beautiful and so holy. She had long wavy brown hair, and a gentle face, full of care and compassion. She left us promising to keep us in her prayers and with several hugs. I was so moved by this woman and her love for a couple of strangers. When she returned with all of the money from her house as well as 10 other jugs of water, I thanked her over and over for her incredible offerings and the joy she had brought to my day.

In the evening prayers that night we read,

All I could think was: You have.

I have been so moved by everyone I have come in contact with the summer- my teammates, the people in parishes and at clinics, our host families, and even people we meet as we walk during the week. God has been creating us each as a masterpiece, forming us and molding us like clay, from the time of our conception until he welcomes us into His kingdom. All so beautiful and unique. That is what Crossroads has taught me. Let us never fail in protecting God’s creation, especially the fragile and vulnerable child in the womb.

Sending you my prayers and love,

Amelia Lamsam

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 11:12 pm

    That is a beautiful realization! And even though I haven’t done Crossroads, this is something I have been trying to do in my life for many years now, to see the beauty of God not only in nature but in the people and things that go on around me. May God Bless you as you finish this journey and venture on to the next!

    ~Michaela
    (host/friend of Central Walkers 2011 in Lincoln, Nebraska)

  2. Host Family for Northern Walkers in Philly permalink
    August 9, 2011 8:01 am

    Awesome Amelia! Just awesome!

  3. Pat permalink
    August 16, 2011 6:56 am

    I saw some of you at Our Lady of Peace when you started you trip. I was so impress with the group and wished them well. I have prayed special prayers for you and that your trip was a success. I wish I could have gone with them . All of you have been in my thoughts and prayers. Thank you for all you have done. I will never forget meeting those young people and how excited they were. God Bless and Keep all of you

    Pat

Leave a Reply

