Skip to content

I Can Finally Say I’ve Walked Across America!

August 30, 2011

Well, it’s been about two weeks since the end of our Crossroads journey and I’m sure some of you want to know what it was like at the end and after the walk.

At least for the central walkers, the end was definitely bittersweet.  We were physically, mentally, and spiritually exhausted by the time we got to Washington DC. We were happy to be done but then again we really didn’t want to leave each other and start the next chapter of our lives.  I mean, we were so used to being with each other for literally 24/7 for three months! For me, it was a hard concept to think that we weren’t going to be with each other at all for who knows how long…

We Made it to the Shrine! Click on the pictures to see it larger.

 

Night trip visiting the monuments. Laura, Stephanie, Me, and Catie.

 

Yep, that's the fountain at the Capitol! Saturday, August 13th, 2011.

We enjoyed our last couple of weeks on the walk though, that’s for sure! We were ahead of schedule on our route, so to avoid getting to Washington DC too soon we stayed in Steubenville, Ohio for about 4 days.  It was great because we got to explore Franciscan University of Steubenville where we got official tours, advising appointments for those of us who are interested in the school, and just the great environment of being around more Catholic youth!  We were fortunate to have Victor Bermudez on our walk who is a current student at Franciscan so he showed us some of the ins and outs of the

We love Jarrod!

school.  All summer long he was trying to recruit me to go there and I kept telling him that there was no way for obvious reasons like money, the fact that I already attend a University, moving, etc.  And by the end of the summer I have to admit that I think he won. I considered it a little bit throughout the summer, but when we visited campus I was pretty sure that I wanted to go there.  I will most likely be a student there in the spring!…as long as that is still what God wants me to do.  See, weird things like that happen on Crossroads. It’s like God is just always talking to us and telling us what He wants us to do next. It may not feel like that then, but looking at it now He was definitely talking a lot, especially through other people. And He still is!

The last week of Crossroads was pretty fun because we got to meet up with all the other walks. It was very exciting because we knew that all the walks were experiencing almost the same exact things as us all summer but we didn’t know them or even really hear from them..except through this blog.  My favorite part of meeting up with all of them was rolling into the RV park and seeing three other RV’s almost exactly the same as ours lined up next to each other. It’s like each RV was its own story book because I knew they all had an incredible summer too with their own funny and exciting stories.

Cleaning the RV's

After staying at the RV park for the weekdays we then cleaned out all of the RV’s (which took almost a whole day), and then transferred to stay with the Little Sisters of the Poor across from the Shrine of the Immaculate Conception. They were so good to us! They housed all of the girls in guest suites and the boys stayed humble and slept in the gym/auditorium.If you ever get a chance to go to DC definitely visit the Basilica!! It’s amazing!

Abby Johnson giving her talk at the rally.

Ahhhmazing!

 

Then the day came where we all had to leave and say our goodbyes. It wasn’t as bad as I was thinking it would be. We were all actually happy to go home to our families and home lives. Although most of us went home, some of us were very blessed to go to Spain for World Youth Day instead! I was one of those. It was a great time! I have never been around so many Catholics in my life, about 2.7 million is what I heard. It was exhausting but very fun. The only thing I wish I could have done was really mentally prepare for it though. We really didn’t know what to expect especially coming straight from Crossroads. I wish I would have researched it more and looked at what it had to offer. Others may disagree but that’s just me, always wanting to be prepared.

Sleeping arrangements for the weekend..

Esta es la Juventud del Papa! Notice the screen says "unidad".

There he is!

The whole Crossroads group. Photo by Matt Coakley.

Now I am finally at home. It’s great to be with my family and I am definitely not going to take that for granted. The most common questions that I get asked are “How are your feet!?” and “Would you ever do it again?” My feet are amazing and as of right now I probably wouldn’t do it if it were in the next six months but I know next year when the time comes around I am really going to miss it. I’m not sure if I can miss a whole summer of not working again, but I guess I’ll just have to see what God has in store for me next year!

Thank you for reading all of this!!

Our Lady of Guadeloupe, Pray for us!

St. Margaret Mary, Pray for us!

God Bless,

Becky Frybarger

Central Walk 2011

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Peggy Orr permalink
    September 1, 2011 5:37 pm

    Now that’s a summer you will never forget!!

Leave a Reply

