Skip to content

And so it begins…

May 22, 2012
So Crossroads northern walk 2012 has officially begun!! Just a quick update of the last few days and then onto the actual walking.
So after arriving in Seattle last Wednesday, my team and I just hung out Wednesday night. We also had to pick people up after Allison and I had arrived so it was better to not really have anything planned. By Wednesday night almost all of us were there. Only 2 of our guys couldn’t make it Wednesday, but one came on Friday and one came Sunday. Here is my team!! They are all truly amazing people and I cannot wait to get to know them more!
So our walk director is Dave. He trained us and he is with us for the first week but he leaves this weekend.
Our walk leader ( fearless leader as he has been dubbed) is John. He is from LA and was actually on the same flight Allison and I were on out to Seattle. Next is Grace and Zechariah from St. Louis, Peter from Maryland, Josh from south Carolina, Amanda from Wisconsin, Stephanie from Sacramento, and last but not least Mario from Ireland!! Everybody is great and training was really fun.This past weekend we began talking at parishes about our mission and also asking for financial support because we rely on donations in order to survive this summer. Everyone was so generous and loving. They really wanted to help us which was wonderful because I feel sometimes people might be over asked to donate money. I gave the speech at my parish and it had me thinking about why I am doing this walk. Why give up my whole summer to walk across America? Well, I realized a lot of it was because of my mom. Mom was adopted by my grandparents.  If her birth mom had not chosen life when she found out she was pregnant then I would not be here. It got me thinking about how easy it would have been to abort my mother because of her birth mother’ s situation and how that one decision could have changed the future for so many. One decision. One. How many people should I have met by now? How many classmates did not get to go to school with me or graduate this year with me? What if I had been one of them? That is why I walk. I walk so they may have a chance to live the life I have had he opportunity to live.
So I thought about this all weekend and then it was finally Monday!!!! Our first day of walking. We started as a group together at the space needle in downtown Seattle. And then the day shift took over. I am part of the night shift so I did not start walking until around 9 pm last night and finished around 6:30 this morning. It was very challenging. We take turns doing 5 miles each and we switch off with the other people on our shift but it is still very hard. My knee is in some pain right now but I am proud to say I walked all 15 of my miles last night. It is also the first time I pulled an all nighter. But hopefully my body will adjust to it soon. Well that is pretty much it. I have little Internet access, but I will do my best to keep as updated as possible. Please feel free to message me your questions and I will answer them as soon as possible. Keep up those prayers!! They are what get us through every day and night shift! Also if you have any prayer requests please send them to me so I can pray for you too!! That’s all for now!! Goodnight!!
Jezu Ufam Tobie
Kirstin, Northern Walk ‘ 12

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Host Family for Northern Walkers in Philly (Jersey side of Philly) permalink
    May 23, 2012 8:17 am

    Wow you story hits home for us since we have adopted 1 daughter and foster/adopting 2 more. You are in our daily prayers. We are sharing your blogs with the St. Margarets Knights of Columbus 13259.

  2. Christina permalink
    May 23, 2012 9:20 am

    Hi Northern Walkers
    Praying for all of you to have a wonderful safe experience. May God watch over all of you. Tell my niece Stephanie..I am walking with her daily in prayer.

  3. Jessica Berman permalink
    May 23, 2012 11:08 am

    Kirstin, I loved reading your post because it reminded me of myself two years ago; enthusiastic and joyful about being a part of this mission. And then we hit the Cascades hahaha. I was on night shift my first week too, so I can sympathize with the adjustment – I’m 5’3″ and I was walking with a tall runner, and my long-legged walk leader lol! It seemed that half the time I was at least 100′ behind them! But walking through the forest, hearing the running water and seeing all the mountains (with snow!) really made up for the fact that my legs felt like falling off. I was absolutely in awe of His creation everywhere we walked, and I always praised him for letting me have this awesome opportunity. Still do, because it’s left a special mark on my soul.

    That was my first mission trip, ever. Having lived in south FL all my life, the whole Northern walk was a huge shock to me haha. You know what else was a shock? Mmmmm… our culture. Yeap I was a little culture shocked, I’ll admit. You see before the walk I’ve never done anything that huge outside of my little box at home. And it wasn’t until I did CR that I realized how extremely important the Pro-Life movement is. I knew that it was wrong for people to get abortions, but sometimes I need to be hit over the head to really understand what’s really going on. I didn’t understand birth control either, let alone any of the other abortifacients, and how casually they were being used. CR was God’s way of showing me how badly these women, men, and unborn babies, need our prayers and sacrifices.

    I’m not gonna overload you with tips, but I PRAY none of your shoes are too small! 😛 Baaaad, bad bad. And if your shoes get wet, try your best to dry them before walking again. Sometimes you just can’t help this though. 😛 It just happened to rain on us almost all the way through Montana lol. Usually it’s dryer though. Strangely, the people we met on the Northern were way more hospitable than the Southern hahaha. Maybe that was a fluke, haha I don’t know. Oh, and the opportunities to go to confession will be abundant, I wish I would have taken advantage of that. Because I’d usually miss the weekend confessions, I’d just grab a nice priest after daily mass. 🙂

    I had some of my fondest memories on crossroads. I’m sure you will have your share too. Just remember that every step you take is a prayer. That goes for all of the walkers. Every blister or any other kind of inconvenience, when joined with His sufferings on the cross, adds another heap of incense around His throne. You and all the walkers are loved and prayed for by me, and many others who read this blog and meet you on the street. You guys rock!

    God Bless,
    Jessica (North ’10, South ’11)
    And sorry for the novel. 😛

  4. Eva N.. aka Stephanie's God mother :) love u Stephanie permalink
    May 24, 2012 12:43 am

    Prayers for your group on your journey across America, God bless u all.

  5. snails permalink
    May 24, 2012 11:46 am

    🙂 first all nighter… miss you, lots of prayers as always!!

Leave a Reply

