Skip to content

Crossroads the Adventure 1

May 25, 2012

Image            Hi everyone! People keep asking me, “Are you going to blog this year about walking this summer?”  I was not going to, but under some pressure by others (my Aunts) I will write a blog once a week. Today’s blog will address the top two questions I have been asked the most leading up to walking again. The first is usually something like “Why on Earth are you walking again!?”  The second question I received lately is “Why are switching from the Central Walk to the South Central Walk?”

            First thing’s first, “Why on Earth are you walking again!?” The answer for me to this question is pretty simple. I would walk across the country a 100 or 1000 times for the Pro-Life movement, if time allows, thanking and praising God for my baby sister, Kelsey. Someone’s prayers and sacrifices helped saved my sister’s life and now I want to offer my prayers and sacrifices for someone else to have a sister, a brother, a daughter, or son. My sister was adopted by my family on behalf of the love of her birth mother who was a 19 year-old college student. Her birth mother felt she could not raise my sister the way she wanted under her certain circumstances.  Instead, my sister’s birth mother gave my family the greatest gift we have ever received: my beloved sister, Kelsey Tracy.  I also walk because to think that in a country that prides itself on freedom, my sister could have been killed legally and thrown away as a woman’s health choice. Man or woman are not born with the inherit right or freedom to decide what child lives or dies. I walk because this choice, abortion, is not normal. To me, it is crazy to think a human life is a choice not a gift to be respected. Every human life should be respected and treated like a person, like you and me, not like an object that we choose to kill or not to kill. Every child should be a gift and something to be treasured not something to be looked at as another choice in life or another problem we face. To kill or to not kill a child should not be a decision we face in life.  We should, as a society, be excited to have a child. If you do not want that child please consider adoption not abortion. There are so many families, like mine, waiting for children! If you need help or support to have that child, Pro-Life centers are there to help, unlike Planned Parenthood. Having a child should be a blessing; it was the greatest gift that my family ever received!

Jesus Loves You and I Love You too,

Mark Tracy
South Central Walk ’12

P.S. I know what you are thinking I forgot to answer the second question don’t worry second blog to come out tomorrow!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Host Family for Northern Walkers in Philly (Jersey side of Philly) permalink
    May 25, 2012 11:44 am

    We are foster/adopt parents in New Jersey and God has blessed us with 3 girls. We have officially adopted one of them and the other 2 are in process. So the feelings for your sister hit home with me and the love I have for my daughters. Thank God for women who choose adoption over abortion. All the walkers are in our daily prayers! God bless you all.

  2. May 26, 2012 9:17 am

    THAT STATUE IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!! God Bless you, Mark, and your entire team! I’m excited to see that you’ll be blogging much more. 😉 Can’t wait to hear from you guys!

  3. Laura permalink
    May 28, 2012 11:26 pm

    Love the big statue of Mary, where were you guys when you took that picture? Keep of the good work. I’m so remembering my walk last year. Wish I could of walked this year but very busy :). I’ll be praying for all the walks to keep up this great work and maybe the battle will end to where we will won’t have to do this. God bless you all.
    Walker in spirit, Laura 🙂

    • June 7, 2012 7:33 pm

      Hey Laura, Great to hear from you! The statue is at a place called Our Lady of Peace Shrine in Palo Alto, CA. It is incredible! That is where the SouthCentral Walk starts each year. Hope you are doing well! God bless, Martha

Leave a Reply

