Skip to content

Blood, sweat, tears, and a spiritual battle.

May 30, 2012

So the first week of our northern Crossroads walk is over. We are into the second week, but what a journey it has been so far. As many of you know we started out from the Space Needle and as a group we walked about 2 miles and then day shift took over. I was on night shift so I didn’t walk until the night… Obviously lol. I will not bore you with the details. But, here was the daily schedule. Mass in the morning. Day shift would walk all day. Meanwhile, we, the night shift, would do the shopping that needed to be done and then John would drive us to the rv park wherein we would collapse from having no sleep. We then would get up around 6pm ish and begin dinner. Along the way there were some bumps in the road and some very interesting stories. Here are some of my favorite stories of the week…

1.  I have officially bled for the babies. Wednesday night I walked the first shift and realized I was getting a blister. So I put a band aid on it and tried to ignore it. Well, during my second shift it came off and when we reached the car after I took off my shoes I found that my sock was bloody and I had not one but four blisters that had begun to bleed. It was painful but nothing I couldn’t handle.

2.  Peter and I heard a coyote on Thursday morning. But, then later we saw the sun rise. We were surrounded by farmland so it was absolutely gorgeous. Especially when we saw the deer up on the hill.

3.  John and I driving to the rv park called Jack’ s resort. Literally in the middle of nowhere. Everyone else was asleep. I was helping him navigate from the front. We turn down this dirt road and the GPS says we should be there. Well, no rv park. We keep driving and John says it will just be around the corner. Still no rv park. John and I are cracking up and it seems so funny because we were so tired. Well, we finally found the rv park after driving another 8 miles down the road. Quit the adventure.

4. We stayed in Spokane over the weekend with some Sisters. On Friday night Alexander and Dan Fedoryka from the band Scythian (for all you Frannies reading this) joined our walk and they played us our own private concert as we were visiting the sisters. It was so awesome!!!!!! They are going to be walking with us for the next 2 weeks. It has been really great getting to know them so far.
That is just a handful of the good stories. We met so many great people at the parishes we had mass at. They were so welcoming. It was really refreshing to meet people like that.

The other thing I pondered this past week is the fact this is not only a physical battle but is truly also a spiritual one.   Being on night shift is so challenging and is truly a struggle (I know it was for me anyways).  I hurt my knee this past week so I could not complete my 15 miles each day and had to cut down to 10 miles.  But, it was hard not to walk because I wanted to so much.  Also, after 10 miles it put my group down a walker which is not really fair.  But, it was something I had to accept.  It made it hard on the night shift though. People had to pull double shift and we really had to fight to get those 30 miles in every night.  It was hard.  You are tired and sore but you want to walk because you want the culture of life to prevail not the devil.  He really makes it difficult.  He tries to weasel his way in so we won’t finish, but we fought through it.  Even when Grace and I were crying on Thursday night because we were so tired and sore. We knew we Had to do it.  The thing that really kept us going was this: struggling or suffering souls snuggle close to my merciful heart. Jesus said that to St. Faustina and it it’s true. We need Christ to get us through these next three months. Otherwise we will fail. If it is one thing I have learned so far is to keep Mary and Jesus so close to your heart.  If you do, the devil will never be able to penetrate it.  I did find night shift to be very rewarding though.  It is truly where the prayer and sacrifice come in because we are not always able to be witnesses at night as much as day shift is able.

Well that pretty sums up this past week. Week 2 is in full swing. Made it to Montana today!!!  Really enjoying day shift. More later.  Keep up those prayers!  Please send me prayer requests if you have any!!  Also, please send me any questions!! Night you all!!  Love and prayers!!!!

Jezu Ufam Tobie

Kirstin Kleb

Northern walk ’12

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. snails permalink
    May 30, 2012 11:39 pm

    lots of prayers coming your way!! did you try deodorant to help with the blisters? you will want something to “cut” the friction to help avoid blisters. moleskin i’ve heard is useful, but i wouldn’t use it on an open wound… I should of made you a blister relief/prevention kit- snap:( Miss you!! and keep up the amazing witness!!

  2. Host Family for Northern Walkers in Philly (Jersey side of Philly) permalink
    May 31, 2012 6:53 am

    Every day we ask St. Joseph to help guide you and to pray for you to our Lord. Thank you for this sacrifice you are doing for life. By the time we get to meet you, walking will be 2nd nature to all of you and you will be at the end of your journey. Until then we will continue praying for all of the walkers daily.

    Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!

  3. June 1, 2012 9:19 am

    It’s amazing how important the Eucharist becomes in those first few weeks, it almost becomes an addiction lol! May God bless you and your team for braving this journey!

    Love and prayers,
    Jessica

  4. Vanda S. Lattie permalink
    June 1, 2012 4:34 pm

    Hang in there guys….You will be rewarded in the end for what you are enduring now. We send prayers your way from NOLA (New Orleans..) Keep up the blogs….I love sharing your stories with others….God Bless all of you…

  5. Gloria M. Culy permalink
    June 3, 2012 8:28 am

    My prayers are always with you and all the groups walking. Thank you all for your prayers and sacrifice for our brothers and sisters that want to live, you all are amazing 🙂 Christ peace be with you all. Sister in Christ Gloria

  6. Claire permalink
    June 8, 2012 7:43 pm

    Hi Northern Walkers! Am looking forward to joining ye in few weeks, bar the blisters! If ye’ve any tips, please email me! – Martha has my details. God bless, Claire.

Leave a Reply

