Skip to content

Mass, Eucharist, and Crossroads

June 21, 2012

Image

In my hometown in Montana, we are surrounded by the beautiful towering Rocky Mountains with a ninety-foot tall statue of our Lady located on the top of one. It is truly stunning and beautiful, but I realized that I had gotten used to it and would wake up every morning, see it, and continue on with my day without even thinking about it. This same thing can so easily happen with Mass and receiving our Lord.  We can fall easily into the temptation of letting the sacrifice of the Mass become something ordinary, something that we just do every day because we always have. Being on Crossroads and attending daily Mass has created very different levels of appreciation for the Eucharist than what I had been used to.  We drive as far as we need to, sometimes an hour, sometimes two, in order to get to Mass because nothing is more important than participating in God’s greatest gift to us. Jesus died on the cross and gave us His body and blood so we can be redeemed, and 4 or 5 walking miles sacrificed, if need be, is well worth the price. We recently had our first day without the Eucharist after trying to find Mass but always being sent to the wrong place at the wrong time. That day did not feel like a normal day on Crossroads.  It felt as if something essential was missing from what we were doing.  Recently, our team was hosted by a priest who gave a powerful sermon on how we should not let ourselves fall into an ordinary day by day schedule, how Mass and the Eucharist should always be something that is out of the ordinary, something that we go to and appreciate fully. Being on Crossroads and seeking out and receiving the Eucharist every day has been a great blessing and has helped give the team the grace and perseverance it needs to continue walking every day.

Peter Hayden
South Central Walk ’12

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gloria M. Culy permalink
    June 21, 2012 10:49 pm

    Thank you for the reminder Peter, I think we all do forget how great a privlege going to Mass and receiving our Lord is. Keep up God’s work! God bless! 🙂

  2. Deb Gardner permalink
    June 24, 2012 4:41 pm

    What a beautiful reflection. I know I’ll remember it the next time I hop in my car to drive a couple miles to Mass. Stay safe and let Mark Tracy know the BoMFeeters miss him!

  3. Walker through life permalink
    July 11, 2012 12:50 pm

    How much I take Our Lady for granted, the mother He gave us as he was dying on the cross? He saved the best for last. Where is my mom? I take her for granted, like a statue on a mountain. My birthday is really her mother’s day, when she gave me birth, and again when she carried me in her arms to witness my death with Christ in the baptismal waters, to be born again in Him. Thanks Peter, for reminding me to remember my Mother, and my mom, and the birth I received through them both.

Leave a Reply

