Skip to content

The Trials of the Foolish.

June 22, 2012

“In my anguish I cried to the Lord, and He answered by setting me free.” – Psalm 118:5

“You know that you are blocking several vehicles?” she said in a shrill voice.
I bit my tongue and venom poured through my mind. The heat and lack of sleep was beginning to render me somewhere between agitation and madness. I let another walker explain the situation to the concerned woman.
Our RV had broken down in the middle of a parking lot. This was the second time we had broken down in the last 8 days. The worst part was that we were supposed to be in North Platte, Nebraska that evening for what was surely to be our most relaxing weekend of the summer.
The other walkers were getting visibly annoyed. I couldn’t blame them. Everything that could have gone wrong seemed like it had gone wrong. We were all exhausted and disheartened. We sat in the heat and waited while the dam of my emotions slowly burst into a torrent of silent expletives. I was as helpless as I was useless.
One of the walkers elected to try to start the RV once more. I suddenly realized that in my frustration I had entirely neglected to simply ask for what we needed. As the walker climbed into the driver’s seat I bowed my head and angrily asked for what we needed. The RV started immediately. My soul was at once laughter and I felt as foolish as a boy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bernadette Pendleton permalink
    June 24, 2012 1:30 pm

    It saddens me to read the struggles you are all going through, on your walk. Two of my children Devaney & Michael are walking with the Southern team. I pray for all of the Crossroads teams to have strength and perserverance through the storms. I also call on St. Michael to defend you in the battles of evil that WILL attack your mission. To all the fowl mouthed, finger flippin, car swerving, people that you will encounter, just remember…to say, Yes, Lord! I can take this if it will save at least one more baby from abortion…I tell my kids, when we suffer and offer it up to Christ in atonement for the sins that offend Him, it’s like taking a thorn from His crown. Stay strong, Call on St. Michael, and know that people from around the world are praying for you all. I pray you will feel all the blessings that God has waiting for you today.
    Love, Hugs & Blessings!! Bernadette Pendleton
    “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength”

Leave a Reply

