Skip to content

In Praise of North Platte: A Ballad

June 23, 2012

Oh, to wake from 7 hours sleep
And find you needn’t rise,
To find yourself in a bed with sheets
Is certainly a surprise.
There is coffee and showers and food galore, and although it lacks some trees
We could never ask for more, North Platte, we never wish to leave.
But always eastward is our journey, over wide Nebraska plains,
So take me from here on a gurney,
For my feet are still in pain.
Walking in the day or night, heat or cold, I will think of when I almost became fat,
From such good food, showers, and 7 hours sleep, in glorious, glorious North Platte.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2012 2:44 pm

    The northern walk loves your poem… But we feel like a video would really enhance the experience 😀

  2. Michaela permalink
    June 23, 2012 9:28 pm

    ah yes, Nebraska truely is “The Good Life” isn’t it:) So glad that yet another group of Crossroaders has gotten to experience it:) Hopefully Lincoln treats you just as well! When will you all be in Lincoln?

  3. Louise Miller permalink
    June 23, 2012 11:29 pm

    to the tune of???? Great ballad, gets right to the point!
    Journey on brave soldiers!

  4. Kathy Kulp permalink
    June 24, 2012 12:36 am

    Hello, Central Walkers! I can’t tell you how grateful I am for the three days I got to spend with you and how very much I miss you now! I think of you constantly. I think I imagined that what you were doing was difficult, but now I realize it is ten times more difficult than I orgininally thought. Your comittment is remarkable. The Lord loves you and blesses you all for the sacrifices you are making for the dear little children in the womb that you are comitted to helping. I feel so connected to you all even though I spent just a few brief days with you.

  5. June 24, 2012 1:42 am

    North Platte is a wonderful place for a Crossroads walker.

  6. Northern Walk permalink
    June 24, 2012 5:30 pm

    Northern Walk loves this poem…. although we think its lacking in the video department. 😀

  7. Peggy Orr permalink
    June 25, 2012 2:47 pm

    Dear Walkers, Keep that bull-wacker on. So glad you made it this far. Well, you realize you are on the Mormon-Oregan -Westward trail going the wrong way, don’t you? Godspeed and thanks for stopping by. See ya’ll next year for our 15th anniversary of “host-ance”. We’ll try to make it even bigger. The Stadler’s, The Orr’s and the Masek’s

Leave a Reply

