Skip to content

Learning the things you don’t know

June 27, 2012

“Well, you’ve been here for over a month. What have you learned?” This question really made me think. I had been here for awhile, why couldn’t I come up with an answer? Sometimes I feel like the most difficult thing about Crossroads is discovering all the things I don’t know. From little things like “where are we staying this weekend?” to days that lead you to question why you’re here at all. Some days (or nights in my case) can be particularly frustrating, things can become so unscheduled or unclear that you just want to discover something that makes sense. A reason that the RV broke down again, why yet another friend had to leave the walk,  or how you’ve ended up on night shift for five  out of six weeks.

And then you remember.
Offer it up.
It’s funny how things become clear at four in the morning.

What I’ve learned on Crossroads is that I am still learning, and I’m ok with that.  I’m learning that sometimes the best way to help others, it to be willing to accept Their help. That the people around me who bother me the most, are the most like me. That loving people can hurt, but it’s worth it every time. That you can make a difference, but only once you let God make a difference in you. And that its impossible to stay frustrated while your spinning, or singing, or dancing, or laughing.
God Bless,
Lindsay Miller
Central Walk

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Philly Host Family permalink
    June 27, 2012 2:44 pm

    All of you are in our prayers! Thanks for sharing the sacrifices you are going through and the revelations of God’s love you are experiencing!

  2. Kathy Kulp permalink
    June 28, 2012 10:41 pm

    Lindsay, I tried reading this aloud to Jesse’s dad, and I couldn’t get through it. Your words made me cry, partly because of my short experience of Crossroads. I understand more clearly what the challenges are that you all face and endure each day. That makes me hurt for all of you. On the other hand, I cried because I can picture you all spinning, dancing, singing and laughing. Stay strong, don’t become discouraged and keep finding ways to have fun together. Thinking of you and praying for you all! Kathy Kulp

Leave a Reply

