Skip to content

“Follow Me” – A Tribute…

July 22, 2012

“Follow Me” – A Tribute to Andrew Moore

From that time on, Jesus began to show his disciples that he must go to Jerusalem and suffer greatly from the elders, the chief priests, and the scribes, and be killed and on the third day be raised. Then Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him, “God forbid, Lord! No such thing shall ever happen to you” (MT 16:22, NABRev).

Then many of his disciples who were listening said, “This saying is hard; who can accept it?” As a result of this, many of his disciples returned to their former way of life and no longer accompanied him (JN 6:60, 66).

“He is possessed and out of his mind; why listen to him?” (JN 10:20)

“Watch out, guard against the leaven of the Pharisees and the leaven of Herod.” They concluded among themselves that it was because they had no bread (MK 8:15-16).

“Why do you conclude that it is because you have no bread? Do you not yet understand or comprehend? Are your hearts hardened? Do you have eyes and not see, ears and not hear?” (MK 8:17-18)

“God forbid, Lord! No such thing shall ever happen to you.”

“Do you remember, when I broke the five loaves for the five thousand, how many wicker baskets full of fragments you picked up?” They answered him, “Twelve.” “When I broke the seven loaves for the four thousand, how many full baskets of fragments did you pick up?” They answered him, “Seven.” “Do you still not understand?” (MK 8:19-21)

“God forbid, Lord! No such thing shall ever happen to you.”

He turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are an obstacle to me. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do” (MT 16:22-23).

“Lord, I am prepared to go to prison and to die with you.” But he replied, “I tell you, Peter, before the cock crows this day, you will deny three times that you know me” (LK 22:33-34).

“Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head” (MT 8:20).

“Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how many times I yearned to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her young under her wings, but you were unwilling!” (MT 23:37)

And Pilate said to him, “What is truth?” (JN 18:38)

Barabbas was a revolutionary (JN 18:40).

“It is finished” (JN 19:30).

And Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you” (JN 21:15).

Jesus then said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you” (JN 21:16).

He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was distressed that he had said to him a third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you” (JN 21:17).

And when he had said this, he said to him, “Follow me” (JN 21:19).

Fr. Dan Pattee, TOR

Southern Walk, 2012

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2012 11:07 pm

    Psalm 116:8-9
    For my soul has been freed from death,
    my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling.
    I shall walk before the LORD
    in the land of the living.

  2. Vanda S. Lattie permalink
    July 24, 2012 1:11 pm

    Thanks, Fr. Dan….awesome Homily Saturday morning on EWTN….praying for all the walkers across the world. God bless all of you….

Leave a Reply

