Skip to content

Walking the Divine Journey

May 22, 2013

My first few days of walking with Crossroads have filled me with many mixed emotions. In the midst of my exhaustion, I have experienced joy and laughter from taking part in this experience of spreading the Gospel of Life across America.  One of the continuous thoughts I have while walking and bearing the pain in my feet is considering the saints like Francis of Assisi and Ignatius Loyola who also travelled across great distances to live simply and spread the message of Christ.  One of the most beautiful ideas in the Catholic tradition is knowing that these saints, along with all of the other saints and angels in heaven, are praying for me and ensuring that I have the strength to do God’s will.  I also think of the Israelites constantly traveling throughout the desert.  The call in Isaiah 55 to come to the water must have sounded like winning the lottery.  After walking along these highways, water and bread have never tasted so good.  All of the simplicities of reality have grown more beautiful through such a lifestyle of dependence on God and the intercession of the communion of saints.  

One of the main questions that passes through my head while walking is how my pain and tiredness is contributing to creating a culture of life.  I looked again at Isaiah 55.  God speaks through the prophet Isaiah saying, “My plans are not like your plans, and my deeds are not like your deeds” (55:8).  God then compares the relationship between His works and ours to the sky being higher than the earth.  Then, God explains how the rain and snow fall from the sky to the earth, bringing forth fruit across all nations.  So, though God views our actions differently than us, God still reacts in such a way that fruits are born from our toils, with or without our knowledge.  Our Catholic tradition holds a similar notion in which we fast and pray novenas for our intentions.  We believe that God recognizes our struggles and will respond graciously to our intentions.  So, I can continue walking and bearing the pain because I know that God hears my cry to bring an end to all abuses to human life in our world so that we can live in peace and love with one another.  We have already begun to see the fruits of our work, and we pray in faith that God will allow our influence to change hearts and save lives.  Please keep us all in prayer so that God will cause transformations in the hearts of others and will keep us safe and protected on our journey.

-Chad Aubert

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anastacia permalink
    May 22, 2013 10:00 pm

    Will keeping you all in my rosary. May Mary wrap you in her mantle and keep you close to her heart.

  2. May 23, 2013 9:16 am

    You aced it.

Leave a Reply

