Skip to content

Celebrities, Sunscreen and Support

May 23, 2013

Ok, so before I started this walk I knew three things. First that I was thankful that we strive for daily Mass, because the Eucharist is the best fuel food for the spiritual and physical life. Second, that I would need tons of sunscreen because as a lady at our first parish so kindly pointed out to me, “Ooo  darling you are so pale, you are gonna need to lather up with sunblock!”(which is true because I got burned the day before we actually started walking)  And lastly that the greatest support we can get is from prayer. 

     Little did I know that I would get a lot of support from a celebrity that I really admire on the first day of the walk. For those of you who are unfamiliar with David Henrie, his most famous role is as Justin Russo on Wizards of Waverly Place on Disney Channel. (Yes I am 21 and still watch Disney don’t judge! 😛 ) Although I am an avid watcher of the show and a huge fan of his I did not know one of the coolest things about him, he is a Catholic! After Mass I went up to him and introduced myself and asked if I could get a picture with him.He agreed and after talking for a few minutes he took a miraculous medal, that was blessed by Pope Benedict XVI, off his scapular and gave it to me, in his words for “a little extra umph for you when you walk!” He also said he admired all the walkers for the great sacrifice and what an awesome cause we are working for, and that he would pray for us throughout the summer. It was a pretty awesome way to start out our first official day for walking. (at least for me, really no one on the walk knew who he really was….)

        Meeting David was exciting, but even more motivating was all the support we receive from people we meet on the street. Many people have offered prayers, waved, given thumbs up, shouted “God Bless you!” and even stopped to talk to us about the walk and tell us why they are prolife! It’s been incredible even though we have only been out for three full days walking. I know everyone in every town will not be supportive, and we have already  received some opposition, but the number of supporters far out number our opposition so far. 

  Our walk has been super blessed thus far, and I have been having a great time with all the faith filled young people on my walk and getting to share my faith with them and all those we encounter. I look forward to what the rest of the summer will bring. 

 -Amy Alexander 

Southern Walk

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Peggy Orr permalink
    May 23, 2013 9:06 am

    Wow. That’s amazing, Amy.

  2. Philly Host Family permalink
    May 23, 2013 9:21 am

    Awesomeness! Please pray for all foster/adopt children who are in need of a loving forever home.

Leave a Reply

