Skip to content

God’s Got Jokes

May 23, 2013

When I woke up yesterday morning, I was expecting my first day off of walking to consist of cooking, cleaning, and laundry.  Little did I know, I would end up hopping on the struggle bus in the Emergency Room while being told that we could not wear our Pro Life shirts there because they were offensive. UHHHHH….

Let me begin with after Mass…

So, Allison has been having bad pain in her side for the past week.  We went to Mass at Sacred Heart church, and afterwards her pain had escalated.  It was bad for her to be around us because laughing hurt her so much.  Her laughing was like, “hahaha ooohhhh owww”. It was the strangest emotion ever. We ended up in the Emergency Room for her to get X Rays. While we (Amy, Kelly, and myself) were waiting in the lobby at the hospital, I fell asleep on Amy’s shoulder.

I am awoken to Kelly and Amy walking away with a man in scrubs.  I am tired, confused, and worried that he is about to tell us really bad news about Allison’s X-rays.  So, I catch up to them while this nurse in scrubs asks us if we’re waiting on someone. We explain that we’re waiting on our friend.  He looks so serious… He proceeds to tell us that we cannot wear our shirts in that hospital because they are offensive.  OUR FACES…………

I thought I was getting Punk’d— “Alright Ashton Kutcher, you can come out now”.  I’ll admit, I was a little ANGRY. That’s the moment when I thought it would be a good idea to tell him a little sumthanggggg. It went a little like, “Look, we’re not from here and we’re on a walk. Our walk leader is in there and we don’t have any clothes to change into. Do you want us to cover with a towel? Do you want me to turn our shirt inside out? This isn’t fair!”

He lets me go on with my rant and then get’s the biggest goofy, mischievous grin on his face and says, “Hahaha, I’m just messing… I’m friends with Allison” UHHHHHHH……. ha….ha…..

So, He let’s us go in the back to see Allison and she is laughing so hard because she had been planning this. Giggle…giggle…

Can’t wait to see everything God has planned for us this summer. God’s.got.jokes.

-Elise Abshire

Southern Walk

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Beth C. Tarantino permalink
    May 23, 2013 3:01 pm

    Praying for all participants on all the Teams for protection from God’s Angels as you “walk in the footsteps” of Christ on this important mission. Hugs to all.
    Life is only “offensive” to the culture of death. With God on your side, wear the shirts proudly!

Leave a Reply

