Skip to content

God’s Pebbles

May 24, 2013

This week, we began our walk across America.  Now, nearing the end of our first week, as we offer up our sore muscles and our aching feet for the souls of the unborn children, some of us may have wondered: are we crazy?  Many people have certainly told us so. Many people have given us strange looks and shaken their heads at us.  Many have expressed doubts that we will make it the entire summer.  We ourselves have personally considered that possibility.  However, God has a plan, and if we trust in Him, He will grant us the graces we need, just at the moment we need them.

Yesterday, after a long day of walking across the desert in ninety degree heat, we arrived at the RV park where we were staying for the night.  As luck would have it, they had free wifi!  After evening prayer, I pulled out my laptop to check my Facebook for the first time in a week! (A whole week, folks!)  As I was absent-mindedly scrolling down my newsfeed, I glanced at an inspirational quote picture that one of my friends back home had posted.  The quote, by Blessed Mother Teresa, said, “I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.”  However, in my exhausted state of mind, I failed to grasp the full meaning of those words.

Today, during Mass at Saint Kateri Tekakwitha Catholic Church, the words came rushing back to me.  The pastor greeted his parishioners at the beginning of Mass, and then welcomed us.  As he greeted us, he said, “We are very glad you are here.  You give us courage to fight.”  Puzzled, the thought went through my mind, “We give you courage to fight?  We are hardly more than a bunch of kids!”  Suddenly, Blessed Mother Teresa’s words became clear to me.  We are casting stones, tiny pebbles, starting the ripples, giving others the courage to fight.  The steps we take for life encourage others to step up as well.  We may be few, and we may have our weak moments where we doubt ourselves, but if we have trust in God and carry on doing His work, He will let us be His pebbles, using us to spread the ripples of His Gospel to the whole world.

-Laura Sparks

Southern Walk

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

