Skip to content

Chivalry is not dead.

May 28, 2013

Chivalry is not dead.

+JMJT+

Chivalry is not dead

After nearly a dozen days with my Crossroads team, I have come to realize that chivalry is not dead. My team brothers have exhibited a deeper level of masculinity which has driven me to a more authentic femininity.

If you are not living on my Crossroads walk (or in a similar atmosphere), it is very easy to believe that chivalry is dead. In a world of competition and demoralization, it does not take much energy to give up hope on our generation. Chivalry requires humility and servanthood on behalf of the
gentlemen, which uphold the grace and dignity of women. I shall give you a few examples of the chivalry that I am immersed in this summer.

Currently, we have three guys on our walk: Cliff, Peter, and Albert. They have bent over backwards for us. Instead of “pitching in” to help, they initiate sacrifice for the good of the team. It has brought me to an entire new understanding of chivalry.

Holding open doors and walking on the busy side of traffic do happen. However, these gentlemen have driven even deeper into authentic brotherhood.
Each night, they sleep in tents or in the support vehicle so that we are able to sleep in the team RV. I have never once heard them complain, despite windy nights, cold desert weather, or sleeping in the fetal position in the trunk of the support vehicle. Further, sunrises mysteriously provide water bottles which have been cleaned without prior show or explanation. After each walking shift, we are greeted with bottles filled with Gatorade, smiles, and encouragement. I am so blessed to have such amazing brothers in Christ.

These are simply a few examples of the many examples of chivalry and dignity that I have experienced this summer. I am grateful for these awesome brothers who treat my sisters and me with such dignity and respect. My humble conclusion: chivalry is not dead.

-Jessie Graehler, Southern Crossroads walker

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucy Landry, Canada Crossroads walker permalink
    May 28, 2013 6:16 pm

    Beautiful, Jessie! Thank you for this lovely post!

  2. Mary Beth C. Tarantino permalink
    May 28, 2013 11:15 pm

    Humbled and proud!

  3. May 29, 2013 9:36 am

    Reblogged this on Daddy's Little Brat and commented:
    A lovely commentary! I myself have experience this on the Northern Walk! 🙂 Thank you for the post!

Leave a Reply

