Skip to content

Why Must We Sacrifice?

June 5, 2013

There are times when the question may arise in our minds: why am I doing this?  The main point of Crossroads, of course, is to witness to the dignity and sanctity of human life, but each and every one of us has a different story to add to this reason….some unique purpose in taking part on Crossroads.

For me, Crossroads began as a journey to stand up for the unborn and change the hearts of others, but throughout these first few weeks of my journey, I have realized that Crossroads is also a journey to change my own heart.  I have felt a great sense of peace ever since the first day of the walk, May 18th.  Upon experiencing confrontation while praying in front of an abortion clinic that day, I felt afraid and uncertain.  Would I be able to handle this? Could I find the courage to handle direct confrontation for three whole months?  These and similar questions gnawed at the back of my mind, but that very same day, I suddenly felt totally and completely at peace: God is with us and we are safe in His arms.

There have been many days already when I have found myself in tears over the wounds in my heart, some of which have been hurting for years now, but I have no doubt in my mind that God will help me to get through if I only believe in Him.  The spiritual aspect of Crossroads – the daily Masses, morning and evening prayers, frequent Rosaries and Divine Mercy Chaplets – have all helped me so much.  Since I began Crossroads, I have been able to feel at peace with my own personal struggles.

The physical difficulties of Crossroads are not easy to handle, either, but what wonderful offerings for the unborn these challenges can make.  Sunday night, nobody really slept, due to our schedule, but God helped us, as He always does, to get through the following day.  Yesterday, I thought I would never make it through my first shift, because it was all uphill, but throughout the pain and the struggle, I found myself begging God to help me, With His help, I managed to succeed, just like I believe I always will, as long as I continue to place my trust in God.

Image

But aren’t these challenges part of what Crossroads is really about?  We must make sacrifices, offer up many of the basic comforts we are used to having at home, suffer through the painful blisters and aching, tired muscles each day.  We must fight the spiritual battles we face while on the road.  Sometimes, we may think we can’t, but God will never give us a challenge we are not capable of handling. Whether we are praying in front of an abortion clinic, with loudspeakers blaring horrible things all around us or simply sitting in the support van, waiting for our next shift and wishing the car were more comfortable, we are being called to offer sacrifices for the unborn.  To God, every little thing counts.And if we really think about it, what we are suffering is nothing in comparison to the reality of abortion and the Culture of Death and if our sacrifices can save just one life, our efforts will not have been in vain.

Crossroads is a great journey, filled with sacrifices and pain, but all the battles, whether they be physical, spiritual, or emotional, are worth it, as long as we are doing God’s will.  I know the sacrifices of my summer have only just begun, but there is nowhere I would rather be.

Bridget Shurtliff

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

