Skip to content

New Eyes

July 11, 2013

I’ve been 18 for a couple of weeks now. It’s interesting how differently one looks at the world. Questions start presenting themselves in your head. Questions that must be answered. Questions such as “Where am I gonna go to college” or “What is my vocation?” or especially “What am I going to do with my life?”

Thankfully, I don’t have to answer those questions just yet because I decided to take the summer and walk across the USA.

Turning 18 in an atmosphere like this has been a great blessing. I can already tell that this adventure has changed the way I view the world. I’ve seen sights that have amazed and inspired me. I’ve been in situations that have prepared me for the times in my life when I will be out of my element or uncomfortable. I’ve met people who have shown me what it’s like to live in a community where you simultaneously want to strangle someone and be their closest friend. All this from walking from sunup to sundown. Weird, huh?

Yep, this adventure has made me look at the world with new eyes. What a perfect way to start my adult life. Working hard for a cause that needs everybody to stand up and fight. Living in an environment that is adult but Catholic. Spending time with people who show me how many ways you can be in the world but not of the world as adults.

Man, I love it here! For the Babies!

 

Julie “Moneybags” White, Northern Walk ‘13

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

