Skip to content

Your Grace is Enough

July 12, 2013

+JMJT+

Your Grace is Enough

Fifty-four days into Crossroads, we have encountered a variety of challenges and difficulties.  Each is certainly coupled with blessings and graces.  It is sometimes difficult not to become discouraged.  Early mornings, late nights, smelly grime, and tight quarters paired with raw emotions sometimes leave me wondering how to persevere.

Recently, we have encountered sweltering humidity, which makes walking sometimes feel like you are suffocating in a sea of water.  Certain teammates have additional setbacks:  one walker is surviving (while resting) with a fractured foot, another walker was bitten by ants and had a swollen foot, yet another teammate was nauseous yesterday and is struggling with stomach problems. 

Today, I was reflecting upon the frustrations (big and small) that accompany the joys of Crossroads, and 1 Corinthians 12:9 came to mind, “But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’  Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”  Below is a little meditation I wrote in my desires to persevere:

I keep walking

Placing all my trust in You

Though I feel displaced

And sometimes just don’t know what to do.

You remind me

With Your gentle, healing touch

That I’m Your vessel

Yes I do know that much.

So won’t You use me

To be Your hands and feet

Though I wander

I’ll do my best to love all I meet.

Lord, won’t You take me?

I’m completely Yours…

Through the hands of Your Mother,

Won’t You use me to open doors.

Doors of hatred, that have blocked Your love and peace

Won’t You lead me to help those in need.

So I pray “fiat,”

Oh Lord, Thy will be done

May my “yes” echo Mary’s fiat

To give birth to You, her Son.

–Jessie Graehler, Southern Walk 2013

 

Image

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

