Skip to content

† Precious Feet {The Story of a Sacred Life} †

July 29, 2013

Image

“Nothing we do to defend the human person, no matter how small, is ever unfruitful or forgotten. Our actions touch other lives and move other hearts in ways we can never fully understand in this world. Don’t ever underestimate the beauty and power of the witness you give in your pro-life work.”                                            

                                              ~ Archbishop Charles Chaput

 

 

God shows his loving mercy in SO MANY ways!! All I can say after this weekend is praise God from whom all blessings flow!!

Saturday, July 27, 2013: (I’m not so great at typing out stories so here are the main points)

~A woman and her sister decided to leave an abortion clinic with the intent to go back for an abortion at a later date. 

~A priest comes running up to our van of pro life walkers asking if anyone speaks Spanish

~My walk leader, Carlos, and I are the two Spanish speakers on the team (He is a much better at it than me but I try my best!)

~Carlos, me, and the priest talk to the woman in her car

~She is scared and does not have money to have a baby

~Father shows her a precious feet pin and explains that is the size of her baby’s feet at this time in pregnancy

~Father suggests for her to go see an ultrasound & she agrees to go to a Woman’s Crisis Help Center in Atlanta

~She, her sister, and I end up sitting in the waiting room speaking as much Spanish as I could manage and talking about our lives… it was very laid back and the conversation was amazing!

~She asks if I would go in the room with her & her sister to see her ultrasound with her ( I am ecstatic, humbled, & honored that she wanted me to join her for this beautiful moment )

~We all get to see her beautiful, 8 week old baby

~She begins to weep as she hears the HEART BEAT of her baby in her stomach and repeats “Mi bebe” over & over

~Her sister and I are also sobbing

~The woman decides to keep her baby and CHOOSE LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!

I cannot wait for this wonderful lady to hold that precious, precious baby in her arms!! We are going to keep in touch & I cannot wait to hear of the gender & due date !!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

-Elise Abshire (Southern Walk ’13)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Beth C. Tarantino permalink
    July 30, 2013 9:19 am

    This what being Pro-Life is ALL about “Mi bebe”. Praise God for this experience of love and mercy.

  2. July 30, 2013 12:54 pm

    Reblogged this on crossroadswalk2013 and commented:
    A beautiful account of grace and life:

  3. vanda lattie permalink
    July 30, 2013 6:42 pm

    Praise God…tears in my eyes as I read this beautiful story…thats awesome

Trackbacks

  1. The Whirlwind of Life | crossroadswalk2013
  2. The Whirlwind of Life | Pro-Life Walks Across America

Leave a Reply

