Skip to content

“Don’t Thank Me; Thank Jesus”

August 1, 2013

We are nearing the end of our journey, but we still have miles to go.  As we anticipate reaching DC and continue to trudge along, completing these last few weeks, it is still the little things that keep us going.  Little gestures of kindness…how they throng around our way like butterflies, lifting us up, giving us the joy and determination to keep going…to finish what we set out to do.

Such an act of kindness was shown to us yesterday morning after Mass when an elderly man offered to take us out to breakfast.  To some people, this may not seem like a big deal. However, for those of us who have spent an entire summer eating cold cereal, bagels, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and yogurt for breakfast, the opportunity to have eggs, bacon, ham, pancakes, etc. was received with much enthusiasm and excitement.

Now, buying food for 12 hungry college students is no small favor, especially at a sit-down restaurant.  I am always surprised when people offer to do this for us.  However, what really touched me about this man was his response when one of my teammates thanked him for his act of kindness.

“Don’t thank me,” he told us. “Thank Jesus.  He put me here to help you.”  These may not be the exact words he used, but still, his answer was astonishingly to this affect.  He went on to explain how he was just a servant doing God’s will to help us.  He honestly did not want us to give him credit for anything.  I was truly humbled by this and his words stuck with me all day.

If it had not been for his gracious gift of serving us, I somehow doubt I would have been able to walk a thirteen mile shift that day.  My goal was to walk twelve miles at once, a much smaller goal than some of my teammates have accomplished, but a huge goal for me.  Walking twelve miles at once is so much bigger than our normal three mile shifts.

Thanks to the beautiful weather (70’s with cloud cover and a light drizzle of rain) and the wonderful breakfast we were provided with, I was able to accomplish my goal.  I truly believe that this man’s gift was part of what got me through the day.  I don’t think I could have done it otherwise.

Thank you, Jesus, for sending this kind man to help us!

 

Laura Shurtliff

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

