Skip to content

Catholic.

June 30, 2014

One of the neat things that I have been able to experience while walking with Crossroads is the universality of the Catholic Church. Being constantly on the road, I have no home to come back to after a long day. I move from one unfamiliar place to another with a constant change of faces, culture, and surroundings. The idea of finding the comforts of home on the road is unrealistic. Luckily for my team and I, we can find a little piece of home at any Catholic church, but I didn’t figure that out until I was already on the road. 

Like most things in life, we don’t totally understand and appreciate something until we experience it first-hand. It is one thing to learn something, but it is another to know it from experience. And so it is by my experience on Crossroads that I truly have come to appreciate and understand the gift of having a universal church.

Since I started my journey, I have had visited multiple Catholic churches every week and have attended daily mass. After an early morning shift of walking in unfamiliar territory, it is such a blessing to be able to enter a Catholic church. It is like coming home. It is so great to look around and see familiar surroundings, to know what is going on, and to be able to receive my familiar God. Even though the location will change, the priest will change, and the people will change, the God and the sacraments will remain the same no matter what Catholic Church we visit.

Going to daily mass has given me the strength to continue on this long journey. The grace of God is what has made this journey possible. It has been such a blessing to have something so familiar in unfamiliar places. No matter where I am, a Catholic Church is never too far away. The Catholic Church gives me a home away from home which gives me the strength to continue. What a gift it is to be Catholic and to be part of the Universal Church.

Marina Bianco
Central Walk ’14

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

