Skip to content

Overlooked Luxuries

July 24, 2014

It’s funny how, since I have been on the road, simple everyday things have become luxuries. At home I live an average, American life. I have easy access to church and stores. Being on Crossroads, I have learned to do without many of the common things that I would have used on a daily basis at home. My experiences this summer have taught me to appreciate things in life that I, and so many people, take for granted.

When we had the RV, our makeshift home, we would do without many of the common things that normal houses would have. For instance, we had no running water. So the common task of doing dishes became a daunting task that involved locating a sink large enough to fit pots and pans. Additionally, our small RV only had a few beds, which meant everyone had to share. After sharing a bed for a month or two, the thought of having your own bed becomes a luxury.

Walking in the desert in Nevada gave me a new found love for bathrooms. After walking for 2 weeks in the desert with nothing around for miles, finding a bathroom is a blessing. I never thought I would be so happy to use a gas station bathroom. Also while in the middle of nowhere in Nevada, it was hard to find daily mass for lack of towns and people. As a result, we were often unable to find mass, whereas before, we were accustomed to attending every day. It was such a challenge to be denied something that was such a staple and was always so accessible at home.

One of the most recent things I have learned to appreciate is home-cooked food. Since we have been without an RV , we have been unable to cook our own meals. As a result, we eat a lot of fast food.
Fast food is good every once in a while, but after a month of eating it for lunch and dinner it starts getting to you. I have never craved or appreciated home-cooked food so much before in my life.

Crossroads has taught me many things, and one of those things is a greater appreciation for the little things in life. I have been able to step back and see that the little things I take for granted might be luxuries to others and how blessed I am for those little luxuries.

Marina Bianco
Central Walk

10487282_10154435210505094_940234398766959397_n

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Old timer permalink
    July 24, 2014 8:34 am

    I walked Crossroads back in 1996, and I remember that we got all the way to Denver before we spent the night in an actual home. I remember that I was in awe of the softness of the carpet in that home. A small luxury indeed! As they say, you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone.

  2. Miriam permalink
    July 24, 2014 9:09 am

    I was a walker in 2010. This blog is such a great reminder of some of the lessons that I learned that summer. When I got back home from the walk I was SO excited to be able to have consistent access to the bathroom. I was singing for joy every time I used the bathroom and could use my clean home bathroom for about a month afterwards. Needless to say my family thought I was nuts. Thanks for the reminder! Sending you guys prayers!

  3. Megan Sokol permalink
    July 28, 2014 10:26 am

    Marina that’s so awesome… You’re so awesome!!! God bless you all! I want to hear more about it when you get back!! Life is good!:)

Leave a Reply

