Skip to content

Never Settling

August 10, 2014

There’s something very beautiful about the way we live on Crossroads. It sounds a little crazy, but I’ve come to really love the change that I’ve seen in myself in flexibility and gratitude for the simple things (like a shower!) that have come from living in the moment. On Crossroads, there’s no such thing as settling. With the nature of the walk, we aren’t able to know where it makes sense to stay until later in the day. We seldom know where we will sleep before mid afternoon of that day. It’s rare that we spend two week nights at the same place. We are East bound and steadily pressing forward.

But it’s not that kind of settling that’s really struck me on Crossroads. If there’s anything that I’ve learned so far, it’s that God can give us more than what we can dream of!

Before the walk, we were told to be careful for what we pray for because, on Crossroads especially, God pulls through! Just that afternoon a walker and I were dreaming of cookie dough and chocolate because we just had gone over the fact that Crossroads wants us to forgo junk food when shopping. But sure enough, not even hours later, a woman knocked on the door and offered to take us to ice cream. There was a flavor that was chocolate with cookie dough. And that was the weekend before we even started walking!

I’ve found that not only has God provided us with the things that we ask for, but for the things that we don’t even know that we need. Not only that, but things that we didn’t even know we could have wanted. This has been something I’ve been praying about for a little while now. (Trust me we have plenty of time for prayer and contemplation!) It gives me confidence that God’s plan for me, as great as my plan for myself may seem, will be so much better than I am able to imagine.

Sarah Seski
Northern Walk

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

